MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION

General Laws Chapter 60A

RETURN APPLICATION FORM AND DOCUMENTATION TO: Ashburnham Board of Assessors

INSTRUCTIONS. To apply for an abatement (or refund if
excise has been paid), complete this form and provide the
specified documentation.

Abatement applications must be received by the assessors
within three years after the excise was due, or one year after the
excise was paid, whichever is later. To preserve your right to
appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may only act
on late applications on limited circumstances where the excise
is still unpaid and their decision in those cases is final.

FILING AN APPLICATION DOES NOT STAY THE
COLLECTION ON TAXES. To avoid interest, charges and
collection action, including non-renewal of your registration,
you must pay the bill in full within 30 days of its issue date.
You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted.

NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel
your registration and retain ownership of the vehicle, or (2)
move to another Massachusetts city or town, during the calendar
year. No excise may be reduced to less than $5.00. No
abatement or refund of less than $5.00 may be made.

Return this completed form to:
Ashburnham Board of Assessors
32 Main Street
Ashburnham, MA 01430
978-827-4100 ext 2

Year Bill #

Valuation Months Assessed
Excise Assessed $

Abatement Allowed $

Adjusted Excise $

Cert.#t Date: / /
ASSessor

ASSessor

ASSessor

Form Approved by Commissioner of Revenue
(STF 126-MVE)(12/2004)

BILL INFORMATION:

Tax Year Tax Date / Issue Date / / Bill Number
Plate/Registration Number VIN Vehicle Year Make & Model
Name (as shown on bill)
Address (as shown on bill)

City/Town State Zip
Mailing Address (if different)

City/Town State Zip

REASON YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN ABATEMENT:

Check where applicable

YOU MUST PROVIDE THIS DOCUMENTATION

o Vehicle was sold or traded

1)
0 Vehicle was a total loss 1)
0 Vehicle was repossessed 1)
0 Vehicle was junked

1)

0 Vehicle returned (Lemon Law)

1)

0 Move from Ashburnham before (1)
January 1 of tax year
0 Moved out of state 1)

0 Exemption

Bill of sale AND (2) Either a plate return receipt from the RMV or a new
registration form if the plate was transferred to another vehicle

Insurance settlement letter AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new
registration form

Notice from the lienholder AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new
registration form

Receipt from junk yard AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new
registration

Letter from the dealer certifying return AND (2) Either a plate return
receipt or a new registration

Date of move: / /
Proof of residency before January 1 of tax year of bill (e.g., utility
bill, voter registration, lease)
NOTE: You must notify the RMV of your change of address

Registration from new state or country AND (2) the Massachusetts plate
return receipt

(1) Type: Documentation establishing qualification
o0 Valuation error (1) Letter from the RMV stating that they made a mistake in your valuation.
The telephone number designated for valuation errors is 1-800-858-3926
Subscribed under the penalties of perjury
Signature Date

Telephone:




