Persons who wish to obtain a marriage license to be married in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts are required to:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Appear in person together.
- Provide satisfactory identification (driver’s license).
- Swear or affirm to an oath under the penalties of perjury.
A marriage license is valid throughout Massachusetts for up to 60 days from the date of the application. A 3-day waiting period is required for processing the license. There is no longer a requirement for blood tests in Massachusetts.
If an out-of-state member of the clergy is performing the ceremony, a special certificate must be obtained from the Secretary of the Commonwealth prior to the ceremony. Contact the Commissions Office for more information at 617-727-2836.
The fee for filing for a marriage license is $20.00, on July 1, 2017 the fee will be $25.00. Call the Town Clerk for further information.
Please make an appointment with the Town Clerk by calling 978-827-4100, EXT. 3.