Board of Selectmen

The Board of Selectmen serves as Chief Executive of the Town and members are elected for a three-year term. As Ashburnham’s principal elective officers, and in addition to their responsibilities under state and local law, the Board of Selectmen has general supervision over all matters that are not specifically delegated by law or by vote of the Town to some other officer or board. The Board of Selectmen has the authority and responsibility to provide general policy direction; issue administrative orders; appoint and serve as hiring authority for Town Boards, Committees and officials who administer Town Government; engage and supervise Town Legal Counsel and approve actions in litigation; act as Town licensing authority issuing alcohol, used car and repairman licenses as well as common victualler licenses.

The Board of Selectmen meet on the first and third Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at the Public Safety Building in the Training Room and their meetings are broadcasted live on the local cable network AWCATV.

Board Members

Name Title
Mary Calandrella Executive Assistant to Town Administrator
Leo Janssens Chair
Rosemarie Eldridge-Meissner
Bill Johnson Clerk